Logo d'IonSat

Logo d'IonSat

IonSat is a propelled nanosatellite developed by students at the Ecole Polytechnique.

Latest news

The latest news is available on the newsletter!

In a nutshell

PartnersÉcole polytechnique, ThrustMe, CNES, Thales Alenia Space
Size6U (10x20x30 cm)
Number of students54
Launch estimated2024
Initial orbit300 km
Mission durationMinimum 12 months

Total estimated budget 1.4 M€

IonSat

IonSat

Very low orbit station keeping

The project aims to design, place and maintain a powered nanosatellite in low orbit. It is part of a growing interest in very low orbits, for their many advantages (reduced communication latency, better resolution, lower launch costs, etc.).

The satellite would be launched from the ISS and would descend to an altitude of 300 km. This descent is based on the aerobreaking technique, which consists of using atmospheric drag to slow down the satellite, by orienting the largest surface perpendicular to the trajectory to maximise the drag force.

Once at 300km altitude, the station-keeping mission begins. At regular intervals, the nanosatellite will begin a descent phase to reach a lower altitude of 10km. The flight will therefore be carried out in stages for a desired duration of 6 months: the mission will be extended in case of success.

Illustration of the planned mission plan for IonSat: representation of the average altitude in orbit as a function of time. The mission is considered a success after 6 months of station keeping, i.e. about three steps.

Illustration of the planned mission plan for IonSat: representation of the average altitude in orbit as a function of time. The mission is considered a success after 6 months of station keeping, i.e. about three steps.

All-electric platform

The propulsion system used is an NPT30-I2 ion engine supplied by ThrustMe. It operates with a power of up to 60W, which is very high for a nanosatellite the size of IonSat.

The NPT30-I2 Ion Engine, an electric grided thruster using Iodine as a propellant. Image ThrustMe

The NPT30-I2 Ion Engine, an electric grided thruster using Iodine as a propellant. Image ThrustMe

Managing to provide the necessary power is therefore a real challenge, which requires a precise study of the energy recovery capabilities of the solar panels, coupled with the use of the battery. It is also necessary to understand the consequences of such energy consumption, particularly from a thermal point of view: this requires a good capacity to evacuate the heat to avoid the malfunctioning of the components.

Join us

We offer different internships throughout the year. More information on the dedicated page

Communications

Scientific papers

The Ionsat project has been the subject of a few papers by students at international conferences:

General communications

Logo d'IonSat

Logo d'IonSat

IonSat est un nanosatellite propulsé, développé par les étudiants de l’Ecole polytechnique.

Les dernières nouvelles

Les toutes dernières infos sont disponnible sur la newsletter !

En quelques Points

PartenairesÉcole polytechnique, ThrustMe, CNES
Dimension6U (10x20x30 cm)
Nombre d’étudiants54
Lancementestimé à 2023
Orbite initiale300 km
Durée de missionMinimum 12 mois
Budget total estimé1.4 M€
IonSat

IonSat

Maintient à poste en orbite très bas

Le projet vise à à concevoir, placer et maintenir en orbite basse un nanosatellite propulsé. il s’inscrit dans le contexte d’un intérêt croissant porté aux orbites très basses, pour leurs nombreux intérêts (temps de latence des communications réduit, meilleure résolution, coûts de lancement moindres…).

Le satellite serait lancé depuis l’ISS et descendrait jusqu’à l’altitude de 300km. Cette descente repose sur la technique d’aerobreaking, qui consiste à utiliser la traînée atmosphérique afin de freiner le satellite, en orientant la plus grande surface perpendiculairement à la trajectoire pour maximiser la force de traînée.

Une fois à 300km d’altitude, la mission de maintient à poste commence. À intervalles de temps réguliers, le nanosatellite amorcera une phase de descente pour atteindre une altitude plus basse de 10km. Le vol s’effectuera donc par paliers pour une durée souhaitée de 6 mois : la mission sera prolongée en cas de succès.

Illustration du plan de mission prévu pour IonSat : représentation de l'altitude moyenne sur une orbite en fonction du temps. La mission est considérée un succès au bout de 6 mois de maintient à poste, soit environs trois paliers.

Illustration du plan de mission prévu pour IonSat : représentation de l'altitude moyenne sur une orbite en fonction du temps. La mission est considérée un succès au bout de 6 mois de maintient à poste, soit environs trois paliers.

Plateforme toute-électrique

Le système de propulsion utilisé est un moteur ionique NPT30-I2 fourni par ThrustMe. Il fonctionne avec une puissance allant jusqu’à 60W, ce qui est très élevé pour un nanosatellite de la taille d’IonSat.

Le moteur Ionique NPT30-I2, un propulseur électrique à grille utilisant l'Iode comme propulsif. Image ThrustMe

Le moteur Ionique NPT30-I2, un propulseur électrique à grille utilisant l'Iode comme propulsif. Image ThrustMe

Réussir à fournir la puissance nécessaire représente donc un véritable challenge, qui demande une étude précise des capacités de récupération d’énergie par les panneaux solaires, couplés à l’utilisation de la batterie. Il faut aussi saisir les conséquences d’une telle consommation d’énergie, notamment d’un point de vue thermique : cela demande une bonne capacité d’évacuation de la chaleur pour éviter le dysfonctionnement des composants.

Communications

Communications scientifiques

Le projet Ionsat a fait l’objet de quelques communications par les étudiants lors de conférences internationales :

Communications générales